Applications for the European Heritage Awards / Europa Nostra Awards 2020 are now closed.
The deadline was 1 October 2019 (date of sending).
Cliquer ici pour le Français


Specialist juries made up of independent experts assess the nominated projects and select the winners in the four categories.

1. Conservation

Outstanding achievements in the conservation, enhancement and adaptation to new uses of cultural heritage.

2. Research

Outstanding research and knowledge transfer projects which lead to tangible effects in the conservation and enhancement of cultural heritage in Europe.

3. Dedicated service by individuals or organisations

Open to individuals or organisations whose contributions over a long period of time demonstrate excellence in the protection, conservation and enhancement of cultural heritage in Europe

4. Education, training and awareness-raising

Outstanding initiatives related to education, training and awareness-raising in the field of tangible and/or intangible cultural heritage, to promote and/or to contribute to the sustainable development of the environment.

Top Awards for Europe's heritage

Plácido Domingo

President of Europa Nostra

Entries may be submitted from the countries that take part in the Creative Europe Programme of the European Union. You can still apply for a Europa Nostra Award if your country is not on the list of eligible countries.

Countries eligible for the European Heritage Awards/Europa Nostra Awards:
Albania, Armenia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Croatia, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kosovo*, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Republic of North Macedonia, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Tunisia, Ukraine and United Kingdom**.

Countries eligible for the Europa Nostra Awards only:
Andorra, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Faroe Islands***, Holy See, Israel***, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Russia, San Marino, Switzerland and Turkey.

*This designation is without prejudice to positions on status, and is in line with UNSCR 1244/1999 and the ICJ Opinion on the Kosovo declaration of independence.
**For the latest update on the eligibility of UK, please check
***Faroe Islands and Israel are also eligible for the Europa Nostra Awards given the fact that they are signatories of the Horizon 2020 programme.

More information

Elena Bianchi
Programmes Coordinator
+31 (0) 70 302 40 58