We are grateful for the invaluable contribution of all the Jury Members, who every year dedicate their precious time to the careful study of all submitted projects. The selection of each year’s laureates is only possible thanks to their voluntary commitment and their outstanding expertise.

Michiel Purmer
Jury Member

Michiel Purmer is a historical geographer and a specialist on cultural landscapes, historic parks and gardens, archaeology and military heritage. He also has an overall knowledge of architectural heritage and is a broad specialist on landscape and cultural heritage.

He works at Natuurmonumenten, where he works in the broad spectrum of conserving, managing and redeveloping cultural heritage. Recently, he has written the chapter on changes in the landscape for the catalogue of the exhibition ‘Holland at its Best’ about The Hague School landscape paintings in the Gemeentemuseum in The Hague. He is also currently working on finishing his dissertation on cultural heritage in nature conservation. He often writes publications about cultural heritage and regularly speaks at symposia and conferences on this topic.

Hugh Maguire
Jury Member

Hugh Maguire has worked in the field of Art and Architectural History since 1990, most recently in the area of Museums, Archives and Conservation Policy, within the Heritage Council, the Irish government’s statutory agency for policy advice on the heritage sector.

He is particularly interested in preventative conservation (across disciplines), the social history of art and architecture, together with the role of museums (including historic-house museums) and galleries in fostering cultural debate within the wider community and as vehicle for international cultural interchange. From 2009 to 2016 he was Director of the Hunt Museum, Limerick, containing the most significant collection of European medieval art on public view in Ireland. He is the European Museums Forum’s correspondent for Ireland and the Chair of ICOM: Ireland.

Gabriel Ruiz Cabrero

Gabriel Ruiz Cabrero graduated as an architect from the Escuela Técnica Superior de Arquitectura de Madrid (ETSAM) in 1971, and then went on to earn a PhD from ETSAM in 1987. He has taught at the Chair of Architectural Composition in the ETSAM since 1995 and has been a visiting professor in the School of Architecture of both Columbia University, New York and the University of Miami.

He has lent his expertise to les Comissions d´Examen Ecole Polytechnique Fédéral in Laussane, Switzerland and as a visiting critic in the Department of Architecture at the Rhode Island School of Design on multiple occasions. From 2003-2008, he served as an External Examiner at the School of Architecture of Glasgow and as a member of the “Colegio Docente Dottorato Internazionale d´Architettura Villard D´Honnecourt” from 2004-2007.

As an architect, he has been responsible for a wide array of construction and restoration works in both Spain and overseas. He has served as curator, jury member and director of several national and international events regarding architecture and cultural heritage and has had research in these areas published many times. He was Director of the magazine Arquitectura from 1980-1986 and in 2011, was awarded the “Premio Nacional Ciudades Patrimonio de la Humanidad” prize by the Ministerio de Fomento.

You might also be interested in