Some Facts & Figures

The European Heritage Awards / Europa Nostra Awards were launched by the European Commission in 2002 and have been run by Europa Nostra ever since. They celebrate and promote best practices related to heritage conservation, research, management, volunteering, education and communication. In this way, they contribute to a stronger public recognition of cultural heritage as a strategic resource for Europe’s society, economy and environment. The Awards are funded by the Creative Europe programme of the European Union.

The European Heritage Awards / Europa Nostra Awards highlight and disseminate best practices, encourage the cross-border exchange of knowledge and connect heritage stakeholders in wider networks. The Awards bring major benefits to the winners, such as greater (inter)national exposure, follow-on funding and increased visitor numbers. In addition, the Awards foster a greater care for our shared heritage amongst Europe’s citizens. The Awards are therefore a key tool to promote the multiple values of Europe’s cultural and natural heritage.

In the past 18 years, organisations and individuals from 39 countries have submitted a total of 3,150 applications for the Awards. Concerning the number of entries by country, Spain is first in the ranking, with 542 projects, followed by Italy, with 318 entries, and the United Kingdom, with 308 applications. With regard to the categories, Conservation has had the most submissions (1,794). Next comes Education, Training and Awareness-Raising (601), then Research (395), and, finally, Dedicated Service to Heritage (360).

Since 2002, independent expert juries have selected 533 award-winning projects from 34 countries. In line with the number of entries, Spain tops the list with 70 awards received. The United Kingdom is in second place (62 awards) and Italy comes third (47 awards). Regarding the categories, Conservation has the most winners (300) followed by Education, Training and Awareness-Raising (89), Dedicated Service to Heritage (78) and, lastly, Research (66).

A total of 123 Grand Prix of €10,000 have been presented to outstanding heritage initiatives, selected from among the award-winning projects.



All the winners receive a certificate as well as a bronze wall plaque to be put up at the awarded building or heritage site.

The Grand Prix laureates also receive €10,000 each.


More information

Do you still have questions about the awards or want to read more information about it?

Go to the FAQ

You may also be interested in


European Heritage Awards Ceremony 2020 – Live online – 10 November