Specialist juries made up of independent experts assess the nominated projects and select the winners in the four categories. Criteria for the assessment of entries include excellence in the work executed and preliminary research conducted, as well as respect for artistic, cultural and social value, setting, authenticity and integrity. Special attention will also be paid to sustainability, interpretation and presentation, educational work, funding and management, social responsibility, and audience development.


Outstanding achievements in the conservation, enhancement and adaptation to new uses of cultural heritage.Projects should have involved restoration or conservation of a structure or site, its adaptation to new uses, building additions or alterations, or new design in conservation areas. The building / site / work(s) of art must be accessible to the public. Buildings or sites that are regularly visited or used by large numbers of people, for instance schools or office premises, are considered accessible. Private buildings or sites that are regularly open to visitors are also considered accessible.


Outstanding research projects that lead to tangible effects in the conservation and enhancement of cultural heritage in Europe. The project must have been completed within the past three (3) years: September 2013 – September 2016. If the study is a preliminary research carried out before a now completed intervention, please submit the entry as a Category Conservation project only.

Dedicated service by individuals or organisations

Open to individuals or organisations whose contributions over a long period of time demonstrate excellence in the protection, conservation and enhancement of cultural heritage in Europe. Entries must be nominated by a third party only. Nominations may not be submitted by a family member of a nominated individual or by a member / employee of a nominated organisation

Education, training and awareness-raising

Outstanding initiatives related to education, training and awareness-raising in the field of tangible and/or intangible cultural heritage, to promote and/or to contribute to the sustainable development of the environment. The projects should be ongoing and sufficiently advanced to have led to tangible results , exemplary, sustainable and applicable in other parts of Europe.

For more information

Elena Bianchi
Heritage Awards Coordinator
+31 70 302 40 58

You may also be interested in