Frequently Asked Questions

We compiled a list of 12 Frequently Asked Questions about the European Heritage Awards / Europa Nostra Awards.

1) Which countries are eligible?

Countries eligible for the European Heritage Awards/Europa Nostra Awards, taking part in the Creative Europe programme of the European Union:
Albania, Armenia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kosovo*, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Republic of North Macedonia, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Tunisia, Ukraine and United Kingdom**.
Countries eligible for the Europa Nostra Awards only:
Andorra, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Faroe Islands***, Holy See, Israel***, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Russia, San Marino, Switzerland and Turkey.

*This designation is without prejudice to positions on status, and is in line withUNSCR 1244/1999 and the ICJ Opinion on the Kosovo declaration of independence.
**For the latest update on the eligibility of UK, please check
***Faroe Islands and Israel are also eligible for the Europa Nostra Awards given the fact that they are signatories of the Horizon 2020 programme.

2) When is the deadline?

The Call for Entries for the European Heritage Awards / Europa Nostra Awards 2021 was published on 7 May 2020. The deadline for submissions was 1 October 2020.

3) What are the categories?

There are four categories:

– Conservation
Outstanding achievements in the conservation, enhancement and adaptation to new uses of cultural heritage.

– Research
Outstanding research, digitisation and knowledge transfer projects which lead to tangible effects for the safeguard and enhancement of cultural heritage in Europe.

– Dedicated Service to Heritage
Individuals or organisations whose commitment over a long period of time (minimum 10 years) demonstrates a high degree of dedication and civic engagement coupled with excellence in the safeguard and enhancement of cultural heritage in Europe, which exceeds normal expectations in the given context.

– Education, Training and Awareness-Raising
Outstanding initiatives related to education, training and awareness-raising related to cultural heritage with the aim of fostering capacity-building and local support, building a sense of place and identity and stimulating citizens engagement and ownership.

4) What are the areas covered by all categories?

  • Archaeological sites, including underwater archaeology;
  • Architectural heritage: single buildings or groups of buildings in a rural or urban setting;
  • Building additions or alterations, or new building projects within historic areas in urban and rural settings;
  • Cultural landscapes, including historic urban environments or townscapes, city or town squares and streetscapes, historic parks and gardens, larger areas of designed landscape or of cultural, environmental and/or agricultural significance;
  • Industrial and engineering heritage structures and sites;
  • Intangible heritage;
  • Moveable heritage: collections or single works of art or objects of historic significance; and
  • Religious heritage sites.

5) What are the type of awards?

All the winners receive an award certificate as well as a bronze wall plaque to be put up at the awarded building or heritage site.
The Grand Prix laureates also receive a monetary award of €10,000.
There is also a special certificate and a trophy or the winner of the Public Choice Award.

6) What is the Public Choice Award?

The Public Choice Award is given to the most voted winner, following an online poll hosted on the Europa Nostra website.

7) What is ILUCIDARE?

As in the 2020 edition of the European Heritage Awards / Europa Nostra Awards, two ILUCIDARE Special Prizes will be awarded in 2021: one for excellence in heritage-led innovation and one for excellence in heritage-led international relations.
The winners of the Special Prizes will be selected from among all the submitted entries to the four categories of the European Heritage Awards / Europa Nostra Awards and Europa Nostra Awards.
These Prizes are given as part of the Horizon 2020 project with the same name that promotes cultural heritage as a key resource for innovation and international cooperation. For more information, please visit the ILUCIDARE website.

8) How are the winners selected?

Independent juries select the winners, after carefully reviewing all entries and having jury meetings.

9) How many winners are selected?

Up to 30 winners are selected every year.

10) When are the 2020 Grand Prix laureates and Public Choice Award winner going to be announced?

The 2020 Grand Prix laureates, entitled to receive a monetary award of €10,000 each, and the Public Choice Award winner will be announced on 10 November (17:00 CET),  during the European Heritage Awards Ceremony, which will be held entirely online for the very first time.

11) When is the 2020 European Heritage Awards Ceremony taking place?

Join us in celebrating the winners of the 2020 European Heritage Awards / Europa Nostra Awards and the winners of the 2020 ILUCIDARE Special Prizes on 10 November (17:00 CET).

The European Heritage Awards Ceremony will be held entirely online for the very first time, with the virtual participation of Mariya Gabriel, European Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth, and Hermann Parzinger, Executive President of Europa Nostra. The ceremony will be moderated by Sneška Quaedvlieg-Mihailović, Secretary General of Europa Nostra.

12) What are the Local Award ceremonies?

The Local Award ceremonies are local events organised by the winners to celebrate their award in their country of origin, with those involved in the implementation of their project and with the local community.

More questions? Please contact

Elena Bianchi
Heritage Awards Coordinator
+31 (0) 70 302 40 58

You might also be interested in