European Heritage Awards / Europa Nostra Awards

FIBRANET – FIBRes in Ancient European Textiles - 2021 Grand Prix Award winner

The European Heritage Awards/Europa Nostra Awards were launched in 2002 by the European Commission and have been organised by Europa Nostra ever since. The Awards promote best practices related to heritage conservation, management, research, education and communication. In this way, the Awards scheme contributes to a stronger public recognition of cultural heritage as a strategic resource for Europe’s society and economy.

The Awards honour every year up to 30 outstanding heritage achievements from all parts of Europe. Up to four are selected as Grand Prix laureates and one receives the Public Choice Award, chosen in an online poll. All the winners receive a certificate as well as a plaque. The Grand Prix laureates also receive €10,000 each.

In 2020 and 2021, two new ILUCIDARE Special Prizes will be awarded from among the submitted applications. ILUCIDARE is a project funded by the European Union’s Horizon 2020 Research and Innovation Programme with the aim of building international connections for heritage-led innovation. The European Heritage Awards / Europa Nostra Awards will contribute to ILUCIDARE by identifying, promoting and facilitating the upscaling of best practices in cultural heritage-led innovation and diplomacy.


Specialist juries made up of independent experts assess the applications and select the winners in the four categories.

1. Conservation

Outstanding achievements in the conservation, enhancement and adaptation to new uses of cultural heritage.

2. Research

Outstanding research and knowledge transfer projects which lead to tangible effects in the conservation and enhancement of cultural heritage in Europe.

3. Dedicated service by individuals or organisations

Open to individuals or organisations whose contributions over a long period of time demonstrate excellence in the protection, conservation and enhancement of cultural heritage in Europe

4. Education, training and awareness-raising

Outstanding initiatives related to education, training and awareness-raising in the field of tangible and/or intangible cultural heritage, to promote and/or to contribute to the sustainable development of the environment.

Best achievements

Each year, the most remarkable heritage achievements in Europe are recognised.

View winners 2002-2021


Europe’s most prestigious heritage awards scheme is organised by Europa Nostra in collaboration with the European Commission and has the support of the Creative Europe programme of the European Union.


Europa Nostra represents a rapidly growing citizens’ movement for the safeguarding of Europe’s cultural and natural heritage.


Creative Europe is the European Commission’s framework programme for support to the culture and audiovisual sectors.

Read more