Levent Tökün
2) Research
Member of the Selection Committee

Levent Tökün is an archaeologist, art historian, and independent researcher focused on cultural heritage politics and museums. He obtained his BA degree in Archaeology and History of Art from Koç University, Turkey, where he also spent a semester abroad at Trinity College Dublin, Ireland, as an exchange student, and later completed his dual MA degree in World Heritage Studies at the Brandenburg University of Technology Cottbus-Senftenberg, Germany & in Cultural Heritage at Deakin University, Australia. For the MA thesis, he researched the issue of the return of illicitly trafficked cultural property both to and from Turkey from the perspective of policy consistency and goodwill. During 2021-2022, he was one of the first European Heritage Youth Ambassadors selected by Europa Nostra, European Heritage Tribune and European Students’ Association for Cultural Heritage (ESACH) where he was representing Turkey. Currently, he is a Project and Event Assistant Specialist at Koç University Vehbi Koç Ankara Studies Research Center (VEKAM). Levent is also a member of International Council of Museums (ICOM), Europa Nostra, and ESACH.

Yonca Kösebay Erkan
1) Conservation & Adaptive Reuse
Vice-Chair of the Selection Committee

Yonca ERKAN is the EU Climate Ambassador and UNESCO Chair on the Management and Promotion of World Heritage Sites: New Media and Community Involvement (since 2015) and PhD Coordinator of the Graduate Program on the Conservation of Cultural Heritage at Kadir Has University, Istanbul. In 2018, she worked as senior consultant at the UNESCO World Heritage Centre, as the HUL/World Heritage Cities Programme Coordinator. Currently, she is coordinating the research project Horizon2020 Marie-Sklodowska Curie – RISE Project titled “Sustainable Management of Industrial Heritage as a Resource for Urban Development” (2021-2025). Yonca Erkan also coordinates a funded project titled “In the context of urban-rural continuity, Web-GIS based Integrated Site Management Model for historic cities: The Case of İznik”.